Review: The Retro Trade – This Time Next Time

The Retro Trade make a noise not unlike their band name suggests. There’s a strong sense of 1990’s lad rock, a touch of soul and even a little funk. In fact not that much has changed since their 2009 debut ‘Sunday Rain’ although an electronic edge seems more noticeable this time around.

For a duo, Jon Marett and Ainz Charlton make one hell of a noise. The title track is the first sign we hear of Ainz Charlton’s powerful vocals which soar in the manner of so many Northern Rock giants before him. The song itself is driven home with conviction but is largely based around one rather simple hook. ‘Its Alright’ is bolstered by an old school rock riff and fares much better whilst the gloriously unsubtle ‘Lost’ sounds absolutely huge and Charlton is certainly up to the task in front of the mic.

The album loses its way towards the centre as the slow-paced ‘Hundred Ways’ and ‘Some Bitter Soul’ seem to be weighed down with sentimentality and over-production. The standout track, however, is a dancefloor-friendly ‘Don’t You Ever Stop’, which suggests that the duo have impressive funk credentials should the occasion demand it.

Needless to say this is very straightforward music but the passion of Charlton and Marett ensures that this example of British indie rock music is undeniably rousing and occasionally uplifting. Given the rather dated nature of the music though, one would imagine they would fare better on the live circuit where their anthemic material could still go down a storm.

Web Sites:
The Retro Trade Official Site

Further Listening:
The Hours, INXS


19 Responses to “Review: The Retro Trade – This Time Next Time”

  1. 1 Dan.l.Godfrey April 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Great album, a really good mix of songs. Some bitter soul and trouble in your eyes are a fav.

  2. 2 Warren Davis April 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Thanks for the pointer Leonards L…downloaded and enjoyed and still enjoying…..rock on retro dudes!!!!!

  3. 3 Cool k April 20, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Really loved Sunday rain, this time next time is growing on me, loving trouble in your eyes and where do we start is a defo winner……xxx

  4. 4 Eva Brooke April 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Would not say it is lad rock at all far from it. More like a top well crafted album a real step up from Sunday rain,music for the educated, give it a good listen and you will hear the magic.

  5. 5 Rennie Gleeze USA April 20, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Hey hey hey from the USA, saw the retro trade through a TV show and love them, great album.

  6. 6 Sue Elliot April 20, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    Fantastic album, thanks for the tip.

  7. 7 Ellen Kennedy April 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Love it…not as dated as you make out,just pulls on influences from some great times, can hear many sounds in the mix. An undiscovered gem.Sunday rain was a great warm up but this time next time is wonderful in many ways…….a hundred ways!!!!!

  8. 8 Will Rundle April 20, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Rare album.TOP TUNZZZZZ. top tracks this time next time, lost and trouble in your eyes……..yeahhhhhhhh. X

  9. 9 Kate Thompson April 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Far better than Sunday rain although that was a great album, this time next time is neither dated or lad rock rock!! More an album of wonderment and pleasure. What a listen and I keep listening.

  10. 10 simon howard April 21, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Really cool sound. Loving title track and where do we start, lost me a bit with don’t you ever stop although it is a funky track. Hope they produce more tunes.

  11. 11 Jason C June 7, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Fantastic album, I have downloaded the entire thing plus Sunday rain (the first retro album). 10/10.

  12. 12 Suzi June 12, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Great work.Top tunes, guys keep it up.

  13. 13 Dave Landy June 18, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Cool album guys, real cool.Trouble in your eyes should be a major hit.

  14. 14 Daisy Moore June 20, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Out of this world good. Got it, listened ti it, absolutely love love love it. also saw it appear on American TV show wow. 100/100 xxxxxxx

  15. 15 Sarah Williams July 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Well I have to say this is a fine listen indeed. Trouble in your eyes is just fab along with where do we start which is a favourite. Looking forward to their new album, which I am lead to believe is called Evil eye. Please keep producing music forever.

  16. 16 chris July 28, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    both sunday rain and this time next time are huge albums believe me when i say that evil eye,there new album due 1st august,is spectacular.if u liked the 1st two albums u will love this more

  17. 17 Elen August 7, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    EVIL-I is top shelf brilliance….the 1st 2 retro albums were cool including this time next time but wow wow wow, go listen to it if you have not already!!!

  18. 18 Dan marshall August 29, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Nice,very good album well worked great, great tracks. love the tunes this band knock out. Give me an Amen. Job done boys😃

  19. 19 Paul September 5, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    I have just downloade this album and the new retro trade album Evil-i and one word will do BRILLIANT. The tunes are stand up and I have finally found a new band that not many people know about yet and can claim ‘I found them first’. If you have not listened to them yet go do yourself a favour and take a good listen. Evil-i has blown me away. Thank you for the music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: